Lieutenant-Governors, Legislatures and Ministries in the Provinces.— In each of the provinces the King is represented by a Lieutenant-Governor, appointed by the Governor-General in Council, and governing with the advice and assistance of his Ministry or Executive Council, which is responsible to the Legislature and resigns office when it ceases to enjoy the confidence of that body. The Legislatures of all the provinces with the exception of Quebec and Nova Scotia are uni-cameral, consisting of a Legislative Assembly elected by the people. In Quebec and Nova Scotia there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly.

The Lieutenant-Governors of the provinces, details regarding the Legislatures and Ministries since Confederation, together with the names of the Ministers of the present administrations, are given in Table 11. For a detailed description of the Provincial Governments, the reader is referred to Section IV of the Year Book of 1922-23, "Provincial and Local Government."

11.-Lieutenant-Governors, Legislatures and Ministries of Provinces, 1867-1924.

Name.	Date of Appointment.	Name.	Date of Appointment.
W. C. F. Robinson. Sir Robert Hodgson. Thomas H. Haviland. Andrew Archibald Macdonald Jedediah S. Carvell. Geo. W. Howlan.	Nov. 22, 1873 July 14, 1879 Aug. 1, 1884 Sept. 21, 1889	D. A. McKinnon Benjamin Rogers A. C. Macdonald Murdock McKinnon	Oct. 3, 1904 June 1, 1910 June 2, 1915 Sept. 3, 1919

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND. Lieutenant-Governors.

LEGISLATURES.					
Legislature.	Number of Sessions.	Date of First Opening.	Date of Dissolution.		
1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th Gen. Assembly 9th Gen. Assembly 10th Gen. Assembly 11th Gen. Assembly 12th Gen. Assembly 13th Gen. Assembly 14th Gen. Assembly 15th Gen. Assembly	34434 34434 54	Mar. 5, 1874 Mar. 15, 1877 April 24, 1879 Mar. 20, 1883 Mar. 29, 1887 Mar. 29, 1887 Mar. 27, 1890 Mar. 28, 1894 April 5, 1898 Mar. 19, 1901 Feb. 8, 1905 Feb. 2, 1909 Mar. 7, 1912 Mar. 29, 1916 Mar. 19, 290 Mar. 7, 1912 Mar. 12, 1924	Mar. 12, 1879 April 15, 1882 June 5, 1886 Jan. 7, 1890 Nov. 18, 1893 June 2, 1897 Nov. 14, 1900 Nov. 9, 1904 Oct. 15, 1908 Dec. 5, 1911 Aug. 21, 1915 June 26, 1919		

MINISTRIES.

Ministry.	Premier.	Date of Formation.	
	Hon. L. C. Owen Hon. L. H. Davies. Hon. W. W. Sullivan. Hon. N. McLeod. Hon. F. Peters. Hon. A. B. Warburton. Hon. D. Farquharson. Hon. A. Peters. Hon. F. L. Haszard. Hon. James Palmer. Hon. John A. Mathieson. Hon. Aubin A. Arsenault. Hon. J. H. Bell. Hon. J. D. Stewart.	Aug. —, 1876 April —, 1879 Nov. —, 1889 April —, 1891 Oct. —, 1897 Aug. —, 1897 Dec. 29, 1901 Feb. 1, 1908 May 16, 1911 Dec. 2, 1911 June 21, 1917	